Mini Goodness

I love Sundays. Sunday is daddy’s day to get up with Ava, and mommy’s day to sleep in! Don’t worry daddy gets to sleep in on Saturday- so it’s fair.

Well I have this (bad) habit of checking my email and scrolling Facebook before I get out of bed and face the day… But this morning it paid off! I follow a blog on FB called Sally’s Baking Addiction. If you haven’t checked this out expect to spend a good chunk of time browsing all of her amazing recipes. Well this morning she posted a cinnamon doughnut recipe-looked absolutely delicious! BUT I don’t have a doughnut pan yet. So I found another recipe Mini Cinnamon Rolls.

I pretty much followed this recipe to a T and when my husband put the first one in his mouth (all at once?!) he looked at me and said “I’d marry you all over again” Ha- guess they were a success! I know they are “mini” but I savored mine, taking a few bites at a time, but to each their own.

What you’ll need:

  • mini muffin tin (a wise investment especially if you have little ones)
  • tube of crescent rolls (I had the buttery flake but I don’t think that made much of a difference)
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon
  • melted unsalted butter
  • flour for rolling
  • rolling pin/ glass cup/ whatever works for you!

Preheat oven to 350, or whatever temp the directions say.

First thing, flour a surface you want to work on. Take half of the crescent rolls (4 triangles) and pinch the seams together, then flip it over and pinch the seams on the other side. You can roll the dough a bit to make it even.

Note: they now sell seamless crescent roll which would work great for these! 

Next take a Tbsp of melted unsalted butter and cover the dough with it. Then take brown sugar (I used about a Tbsp) and cinnamon (I used about a tsp) mixed together and sprinkle all over the dough. Use as much or as little sugar mixture you want.

 

 

 

 

 

Then roll the dough into a log. I rolled from the longer side. The original recipe says the log will make 8. I ended up getting 10, with the last one a little crazy. I think these were the perfect size for my pan, they fit in there leaving a little room to grow. (score your dough first to make sure you cut enough and they are about even)

 

 

 

 

 

Cut dough and place into mini muffin pan. I went ahead and brushed a little more melted butter on top and sprinkled a little more of the sugar mixture..

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here they are cooking up perfectly in the oven! Yum

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

While they are cooking make the icing. I used this recipe because the original one called for maple syrup- which sounds amazing but we were out of.

It’s 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, and 1-2 tsp of milk or cream. Just mix everything together until the sugar lumps are gone.

I baked mine for exactly 10 minutes and they came out perfect!

 

 

 

 

Drizzle (pour) icing onto mini cinnamon rolls and enjoy!

You can repeat this with the rest of the dough or save it for dinner crescent rolls.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

