Homemade Hummus

To me there’s something to homemade recipes and fresh ingredients. Like salsa, guacamole, and hummus… Yum!

Ever since they started carrying Sabra Hummus at the grocery store I was hooked. It felt like the perfect snack for the beach with some pita chips. My favorite flavor was garlic. Well once I found a recipe for homemade hummus (and it seemed easy enough) I went for it. My husband absolutely loves it! So here’s what I do.

Homemade Hummus

what you need:

  • food processor
  • 1 16oz can of garbanzo beans (chick peas)
  • 1-2 lemons; about 2 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice
  • 1-3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 Tbsp tahini
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • splash of water (or liquid from can)

First I drain my chick peas. Some people save a little bit of the liquid from the can to add to the mixture instead of water; I do not. But that’s up to you. I also pulse my chick peas for about 20 seconds before I add everything else. I don’t know if this really makes a difference but I do it every time.

Then I grate in the garlic with my zester.

IMG_0679

 

 

 

 

 

 

I add the Tahini.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I add the rest of the ingredients and blend. You’ll have to keep scraping the sides down and checking the consistency. This is too chunky for me, I like it smooooth. So add more water and/or oil to get it the texture you like.

After adding more oil, about a tsp at a time this is what I got, and I was happy with it.

IMG_068

Taste it and adjust accordingly! add salt maybe some more lemon juice…. hummus is really a canvas and there are plenty of variations you can find online. Once you get the hang of it it’s super easy to make!

Leave a Reply

