Caprese Pizza

During our month of no spending I find myself struggling to be creative with dinner every night. Well one day I swear every channel on TV had pizza commercials! Needless to say I was craving a pizza. I haven’t had much luck making my own pizza crust at home or even using those pre-made ones in a tube from Pillsbury.

Well I checked out the fridge and the freezer… Score! I had a package of Flat Out flat bread. I’ve made pizza on this bread before with left over shredded pork, cheese, and BBQ sauce. I really wanted a caprese inspired pizza. Luckily I had all the ingredients!

Caprese Pizza

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The hardest part of this recipe (for me) was preparing the balsamic glaze. Sometimes I amaze myself in the kitchen with what I can make, and sometimes I surprise myself with what i can’t make!

Balsamic glaze is really easy to make but for the impatient person it can be a challenge. All you do is put 2 cups of balsamic vinegar in a small pot bring it to a boil, lower the temp some and let it reduce. It will reduce by more than half. I’m not going to lie I’ve attempted to make it three times! Yes three. It’s embarrassing to admit. Well this time I did it! This post should be titled “I finally made balsamic glaze!”.

Balsamic Glaze: 2 cups balsamic vinegar

  • add vinegar to small pot, bring to boil
  • lower heat (keep it bubbling though!)
  • allow to reduce anywhere from 20-40 mins (be patient)
  • stir periodically, keep an eye on it. It can burn quite easily
  • glaze is done when it coats the back of a spoon
  • thickens when cooled, you can store it in the fridge

Okay, so now that thats done you can assemble your pizza!

Caprese Inspired Pizza Ingredients, per pizza

  • flat out flat bread
  • balsamic glaze, drizzle
  • fresh basil, 6-10 leaves chopped
  • fresh mozzarella (fresh is key!), pearls, or sliced
  • fresh tomato, sliced
  • red sauce (pizza sauce, pasta sauce, or homemade) 2-3 Tbsp
  • olive oil
  • garlic powder (optional)
  1. preheat oven 350
  2. prepare crust by brushing both sides with a thin layer of olive oil. You can sprinkle the toppings side with garlic powder if you want.
  3. place crust in oven for 7 mins, flip half way through (I put mine directly on rack so it gets nice and crispy)
  4. once crust is done pull out and place 2-3 Tbsp of tomato sauce on crust, depending on how sauce-y you like it
  5. lay some mozzarella slices or pearls down, you don’t have to cover the whole pizza- it will spread when cooking
  6. lay about 3-4 slices of tomato and cover with more cheese if you want
  7. you can sprinkle with basil now, or after they come out
  8. drizzle a litte more olive oil on top and pop in oven for about 7 more minutes
  9. once cheese is melted and edges look crispy take out of oven and drizzle with balsamic glaze (and basil if you haven’t put it on yet)
  10. Enjoy!

 

Caprese PizzaThis pizza is very versatile. If caprese isn’t your thing Flat Out Bread has a bunch of recipes!

Leave a Reply

