It’s a Guac Party!

                     Fresh Homemade Guacamole

holy guacamole

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love homemade guacamole. It tastes so fresh and yummy. My husband and I can finish this whole bowl on football sunday.

It’s so simple it’s scary! Like many recipes you can adjust, omit, and add ingredients to your liking. This is how I make it..

What you need:What you need

  • avocados; I had 3 small ones
  • tomato; 1-2 depending on size
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • shallot about a Tbsp (or onion, or green onion)
  • lemon (or lime)
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

First you cut your avocados in half and take the pits out with the knife. Like this.

sliced avocado

 

 

 

 

 

 

After you scoop all the flesh into your container squeeze fresh lemon juice on top. I used 1 lemon and got about a Tbsp. The citrus helps keep the avocado from browning. Typically you would use a lime, but all I had were lemons… When life gives you lemons make guacamole!

Then smash the avocados till they are the consistency you like. I keep mine a little chunky.

smashed avocados

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Add the rest of the ingredients. I love tomato in mine so I use quite a bit. I take the seeds and as much of the liquid out of the tomato. I grate my garlic in and slice up the shallot. Finally I add salt and pepper to taste. Salt makes a huge difference in this recipe because it helps bring out the flavors- but you can add too much! After I’ve mixed everything together I put the guacamole in the fridge for at least an hour to let the flavors blend, then taste it to see if it needs more salt.

If you’re short on time you could put everything in a food processor and blend it up quick, I might omit the tomato and add that afterwards.

Dive in! Try not to eat it all in one sitting!

Dive in!

Leave a Reply

